W is for Warm Welcomes and World Cups

W is for Warm Welcomes and World Cups

Warm Welcomes

There are few things which make me happier than warm welcomes! And the warmest one I ever had was on my first visit to Colombia. I had never travelled so far or for so long in my life and when we finally reached Pereira in Colombia I was exhausted and everything was quite a blur. Imagine my delight when almost the whole family was stood outside the airport with arms open ready to meet me for the first time. After many hugs and tears we all got inside a mini-bus hired for the occasion and set out on the final two hours of the journey.

After driving through towns, villages and mountains in absolute (and slightly terrifying, on occasions) darkness we finally entered the town of Mistrato. As we drove past the patron saint of the town small twinkling lights from the houses glittered towards us.

Welcome!

Welcome!

When we finally reached our destination, my ‘father-in-law,’ the only family member not to go to the airport stood at the open door of the house. His first words to me was: ‘Hola, mi hija’ (hello, my daughter). It was a really beautiful moment. Behind him the entrance to the house looked like something from a magical book; flowers, plants, paintings and ornaments, all in bright colours, filled the space (and my curiosity).

As a welcoming present the family had prepared a treasure chest full of tropical fruits, beer, toiletries, flip flops and a beautiful indigenous dressing gown. Basically all you need to feel welcome, comfortable and indeed very special!

Hoho...Treasure!

Hoho…Treasure!

World Cups

I am aware I have already included football in many of my earlier blog entries so simply wanted to include the video below (from the under 20 World Cup held in Colombia in 2011). This makes me wish that every World Cup was held there. Allegria!

Leave a comment